FinalistsAboutFAQsTimelineEvaluationRulesNews & UpdatesRegister now

Mark Norton

Water Resources & Planning Manager
Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority

Mr. Norton holds a Bachelors of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Colorado and a Masters in Public Administration from Brigham Young University. He is a registered civil engineer in California and Colorado and accredited LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) professional under the US Green Building Council and Envision Sustainability Professional under the Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure.

Mr. Norton’s background includes 40 years of engineering experience in a broad range of civil engineering projects. Mr. Norton serves as the Water Resources and Planning Manager for SAWPA, a joint powers agency organized to support water resources in the Santa Ana River Watershed. He led the development of the first integrated regional water management plan (IRWM) for the Santa Ana River Watershed and oversees the current IRWM plan known as the One Water One Watershed (OWOW) plan.

Mr. Norton also serves as the Authority Administrator for the Lake Elsinore and San Jacinto Watersheds Authority (LESJWA), a joint powers agency created to enhance water quality for Lake Elsinore and San Jacinto River Watershed. His titles include Past President of the Inland Empire Council of Engineers and Scientists, Past President of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) San Bernardino/Riverside Branch and Los Angeles Section, 2004-05 ASCE Civil Engineer of the Year, past ASCE Region 9 (California) Governor and currently serves as the Chair of the ASCE Region 9 Sustainability Committee.

Evaluation Panel

The Evaluation Panel members have been carefully chosen for their knowledge and experience. Each member scores and comments on the submissions assigned to them. Each valid submission will receive five sets of reviews that have been statistically normalized. Informed by the resulting ranking of submissions with consideration to diversity of solutions, up to five Finalists will be named.